Gratitude

Gratitude noun: the quality of being thankful; readiness to show appreciation for and to return kindness.   Gratitude

Gratitude makes sense of our past, brings peace for today, and creates a vision for tomorrow- Melody Beattie

I have been so grateful for everything that exists in my life today.

From the bed that makes my back ache (we definitely need a new mattress!) to the beautiful nature that surrounds my home. I woke up with positive eyes and a happy soul.

Lying in my terribly uncomfortable bed (but a bed nonetheless), I began the day by downloading ‘affirmation’ and ‘happiness journal’ app’s onto my iPhone. Then; instead of having a fight with myself about getting out of bed on a lazy Sunday, I opened the curtains and peered out the window, feeling grateful for the sunshine that existed on this glorious Sunday morning! I put my gym gear on, grabbed a ‘breakfast-on-the-go’ (banana) and drove to the gym, feeling grateful to have such a facility only 10 mins away. Afterwards, I walked up the road to get a coffee. Instead of ordering my usual ‘take-away’ coffee, I asked for a skim flat-white and a cinnamon doughnut ‘to have here’, and sat down in the beautiful and serene lounge area, feeling ‘at one’.

As I sat there reading my magazine and sipping on my flat-white, a rather large group of people from the Vintage Motorcycle Club arrived on their rather loud transportation. Instead of becoming annoyed that my serenity had now come to an abrupt stop, I smiled as I heard the friendly chit-chat and laughter that hurdled through the door.

I was grateful that others, like myself, were enjoying this wonderful day too. An old man with a long silver beard and matching ponytail called out to me through the slide-back windows:

“Lovely room you have in there love. Anyone would think you’re in paradise! But, you’re just in the little old Oaks. But, what a lovely place to be. Wouldn’t want to be anywhere else, love!”

I loved that this interesting man could see such beauty in the smallest of things.

As I drove home, I took in the surroundings so much more extensively than I had ever done. I took in the divine beauty of the enveloping trees and greenery. I took in the quiet under-tones of the birds. And as I did, I thought to myself; there is so much in life to be grateful for:

“I want to live everyday feeling this grateful and happy” . 

So, in order to live life in eternal spiritual happiness, I have decided to start a daily  ‘Gratitude Journal’.

My list of the 10 things that I am grateful for today are:

  1. Love
  2. Learning
  3. A body that works
  4. Fruit
  5. Sunshine
  6. Friends
  7. Music
  8. Planners
  9. Devotions
  10. Ideas

It is a very broad list of nouns, but they are all things that have made me feel grateful today.

As well as beginning a daily Gratitude Journal, I have begun a daily list of ‘5 Good Things that Happened in the Day’.

I have also decided to accept a little blog challenge, called the ’21 Days of Gratitude Challenge’, starting from tomorrow.

Join me in spiritual happiness and become grateful for all that your life brings! Click on the link to download your free Gratitude Journal, courtesy of Sage Grayson. Or start your own ’21 Days of Gratitude Challenge’, courtesy of ‘Inspired by Familia’. 

2 thoughts on “Gratitude

Leave a Reply

